russian

Lidar for remote identification of a person by smell

Remote person identification by smellABSTRACT: Each person has their own characteristic and individual smell. The individuality of the smell is provided by a unique combination of conditions for the formation of the smell. The number of combinations that make up the general smell of a person is very large. According to the mechanism of formation of odor traces used in forensic odorology, they can be divided into the odors themselves and the sources of the smell.

The use of odorological information in the fight against crime dates back to the late 19th century. In instrumental odorology (olfactronics), physico-chemical devices are used that can isolate a spectrum of odorous substances. The smell spectrum is called an olfactogram.



The characteristics of sweat smell are so unique to each person that they can be used for biometric identity authentication [2]. The paper [2] describes the prospects for tracking amino acids and secretions in the skin for active multi-factor biometric authentication in the field of cybersecurity.

Researchers from the Polytechnic University of Madrid, in collaboration with the company IIIa Sistemas SL, presented in early 2014 the method of identifying a person by smell: "Identity verification: Body odor as a biometric identifier" [1,7] - "Identity verification: body odor as a biometric identifier". The researchers, in their research, are making progress in developing a new biometric technique that would allow people to be identified by their personal smell. Researchers from UPM [7] concluded that together with Sistemas, they are making progress in developing a new biometric technique that would allow identifying people by their personal smell.

The odors of an individual person are a "layer cake", in which the lower layers are peculiar only to the individual carrier, the higher layers are associated with the current situation and can be caused by cosmetics, workwear, room odors, etc., that is, layers of odors. The decomposition of such a pie into components is solved by using lidars with a tunable frequency of radiation from infrared to violet - the stage of primary separation of the smell layers.

In this paper, a scheme and methods for remote sensing of odors and body parts of people in solving the problem of rapid identification of individuals are proposed. The technical solution is based on the lidar concept for remote registration and analysis of the absorption spectra of odour traces. As radiation sources, laser sources of two or more wavelengths of visible and infrared (ultraviolet) range with a power safe for vision are used [3]. In [3], a lidar with a radiation wavelength of 1.54 microns that is safe for the eyes and eyes was developed. designed to detect fumes and other impurities in the air. It is shown that, depending on the scattering properties of smoke, it is possible to register it at distances up to 10-12 km [3]. The laser power for the problem under consideration can be reduced by 2-3 orders of magnitude, since the distance to the controlled object will be the first tens of meters.

Lidar protypes for individual identification:

Structurally, the lidar protopype for identifying a person by smell can serve as the well-known lidar schemes used to obtain absorption spectra in the analysis of atmospheric air. A simplified lidar scheme for atmospheric sounding is presented in Fig. 1 [4].

 Simplified lidar scheme for atmospheric sensing
Figure 1. Simplified lidar scheme for atmospheric sensing.[4]

In practice, two schemes of laser sensing of the atmosphere are used. In [6], such schemes of laser control of the composition of atmospheric pollutants by radiation absorption are illustrated. The first scheme is a laser locator, in which the laser beam passes through the path to the photodetector, which is located at the end of the path. Figure 1 shows a variant in which a reflector is installed at the end of the route, while the laser beam passes the route twice-back and forth.

In the second scheme, the photodetector is combined with the emitter and captures the radiation that is reflected from the probed area. Such a scheme for laser monitoring of the state of the atmosphere is called a lidar [6].

 Illustrative lidar scheme for identifying odors

Fig. 2. Illustrative scheme of lidar for identification of odors.

Figure 2 shows a lidar circuit for identifying odors. The scheme of the device allows you to combine the source and receiver of radiation in one case. The latter circumstance will ensure the creation of a compact device for operational control and identification of a person.

Absorption spectra:

 Low-resolution atmospheric absorption spectra
3. Examples of atmospheric air absorption spectra in the near [0.78-3 micrometers] and middle [3-50 micrometers] infrared IR wavelength range. [5]

In Fig.3. Low-resolution atmospheric absorption spectra are given. The top seven lines represent the absorption spectra of the most important atmospheric species. The lower row of the table simulates the atmospheric absorption spectrum [5]. The atmospheric absorption spectra made by the AVIRIS Classic spectrometer (224 bands) were insufficiently sampled, which corresponded to a spectral resolution of 10 nm, and the sampling interval is also 10 nm. The AVIRIS NG spectrometer provided a resolution of about 5 nm with a number of bands of more than 400 to cover 0.38-2.5 in the micron spectral range of waves.

Spectral analysis of the emission and absorption spectra allows us to determine the composition of the substance at a qualitative level. The absorption spectrum is a dark line against the background of a continuous source spectrum. The quantitative characterization of the smell components is based on the measurement of the brightness of the spectral lines. Knowing the wavelengths emitted (absorbed) by different pairs, you can determine the presence of certain components.

Mathematical processing of the probing results can be based on image recognition methods, and in particular on cluster methods with training, which are called neural networks.

Mathematical processing:

The automatic recognition scheme contains three main blocks: the radiation sensor, the classifier, and the classifier training block. The sensor converts the physical characteristics of the recognition object into a set of formal features x. The main success in the implementation of such a device is based on the independence of the characteristics measured by the sensor. The algorithm for constructing the classifier provides the assignment of feature values to one of a finite number of classes. Training block ... (with a teacher).

From a statistical point of view, the optimal classification quality is Bayesian classifier [8, etc.]. The optimal decision function, in this case, the characteristic set x that belongs to class Wi is determined by the likelihood ratio:

p(x|Wi)/p(x|Wj) > 1

for all j and i, j=/=i, where p(x|Wk) is the conditional probability for the characteristics x provided that they belong to the class Wk.

If the classifier gives an erroneous decision that the data set x belongs to the class Wi, when in fact x belongs to the class Wj, then the classifier suffers losses, which are called errors of the first and second kind. Bayes' rule allows you to estimate the mathematical expectation of losses and express posterior probabilities in terms of conditional and prior.

Error of the first kind-assignment to class Wi of an object belonging to another class. The mistake is equivalent to a situation where you met an acquaintance and did not recognize him (will be rich). Error of the second kind-assigning an object to class Wi that does not belong to this class. This is equivalent to taking an unknown person for an acquaintance (to be poor to him). The effectiveness of correctly assigning an object to the appropriate class is estimated by the marginal probability Pe in the figure below:

Probability distribution of errors of the first and second kind
Fig. 4. Probability distribution of errors of the first and second kind.

The desire for a more complete description of recognition objects allows you to reduce errors of the 1st kind. In turn, the expansion of the feature space leads to an increase in errors of the 2nd kind[9]. Fuzzy sets of conditional probability densities do not allow avoiding recognition errors in the principle (Fig.4).

CONCLUSIONS . 1) The success of the classification depends on the quality of the densities of the conditional probability distribution. 2) The risks of losses cannot be reduced below a certain amount.

LITERATURE:
[1]. Identity verification: Body odor as a biometric identifier. February 4, 2014. Universidad Politecnica de Madrid https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/
2014/02/140204073823.htm
[2]. Promisesand Challengesin ContinuousTrackingUtilizingAminoAcidsin SkinSecretionsfor ActiveMulti-FactorBiometricAuthentication for Cybersecurity. ChemPhysChem2017,18,1714 -1720. https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf
/10.1002/cphc.201700044
[3]. LIDAR WITH VISION-SAFE RADIATION. // NAUCHNOE PRIBOROSTROENIE, 2002, vol. 12, no. 4, p. 81-86. https://cyberleninka.ru/article/n/
lidar-s-bezopasnym-dlya-zreniya-izlucheniem
[4]. Development and creation of a model of a laser differential absorption gas analyzer for trace measurements in real urban conditions based on a laser. // Thesis, 2015. https://kpfu.ru/portal/docs/F1806603334/Zuev.pdf
[5]. Introduction to Atmospheric Spectroscopy and Spectral Technique. June 2016. Remote Sensing Division, Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, DC USA. https://hyspiri.jpl.nasa.gov/downloads/2016_Symposium/
day1/III-4_Gao_GSFC_HyspIRI_Imaging_spectrometry_6_2016.pdf]
[6]. LASER CONTROL OF ATMOSPHERIC AND OCEAN POLLUTION. https://texts.news/populyarnaya-fizika_1438/
lazernyiy-kontrol-zagryazneniy-atmosferyi-50069.html
[7]. Universidad Polit?cnica de Madrid (UPM). http://www.upm.es/internacional/Students/StudiesDegrees/
University+Masters/Admission/
[8]. J. Tu, R. Gonzalez - Principles of pattern recognition.
[9]. M. Smirnov, I. Sivyakov - Recognition of portrait images in the problem of automatic classification.
https://cache-spb04.cdn.yandex.net/download.yandex.ru/
company/grant/2005/03_Smirnov_102804.pdf

 
Home http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/
Node.js/Express/Full-Stack http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/cgi_java/cgi_programming4.html
To help ATMs - protection via hidden water marks http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/watermark/cards/bankhelp.html
The elements of the probabilistic analysis of the Forex markethttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/forex_html/forex3eng.html
Currency Prediction Software of market FOREXhttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/forex_html/usd_euro15.html
Registration and restoration of digital Fourier holograms http://smirnov.spb.su/papers/for_national_instruments_2015.php
Software for evaluating of ground resolution of remote sensing optical-systemhttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/special/index.html
Objective estimation of digital scanners qualityhttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/scanner/scan02.html
Watermarking photoshttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/watermark/index.html
Restoration of imageshttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/scanner/filter/index.html
Visual Gallery Manager 2.0http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/vgm20/index.html
Physical simulation of optical-electronic system of high-resolutionhttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/simult_oes/index.html
Technology of counteraction to falsification of credit cardshttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/watermark/cards/card_eng.html
Import Excel into Opencarthttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/cgi_java/opencart_excel.html
Free Advertisment. Free Bulletin Board (russian)http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/wwwboard/rusboard.html
Contact ushttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/wwwboard/eng/contact.html
The latent transfer and storage of the confidential information on the Internethttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/watermark/conf_data/guarding_eng.html
Software Prices http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/prices/prices_eng.html
VIN number anti-theft http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/watermark/cards/add_vin_number.html

St. Petersburg, Russia
Mobile: +7(921)343-33-97
E-mail: smirnoff04@mail.ru
http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/

english

Лидар идентификации личности по запаху

Лидар идентификации личности по запаху АННОТАЦИЯ: Каждый человек имеет свой характерный и индивидуальный запах. Индивидуальность запаха обеспечивается неповторимым сочетанием условий формирования запаха. Число сочетаний, составляющих общий запах человека, весьма велико. По механизму образования запаховых следов, используемых в криминалистической одорологии, можно разделить на сами запахи и источники запаха.

Использование одорологической информации в борьбе с преступлениями берет начало с конца 19 столетия. В инструментальной одорологии (ольфактроника) применяются физико-химические приборы, способные выделять спектр пахучих веществ. Спектр запаха получил название ольфактограммы.



Характеристики запаха пота настолько уникальны для каждого человека, что их можно использовать для биометрической аутентификации [2] личности. В работе [2] изложены перспективы отслеживания аминокислот и выделений в коже для активной многофакторной биометрической аутентификации в области кибербезопасности.

Исследователи из Мадридского политехнического университета в сотрудничестве с компанией IIia Sistemas SL представили в начале 2014 года метод идентификация человека по запаху: "Identity verification: Body odor as a biometric identifier"[1,7] - "Проверка личности: запах тела как биометрический идентификатор". Исследователи, в своих изысканиях, добиваются прогресса в разработке новой биометрической техники, которая позволила бы идентифицировать людей по их личному запаху. Исследователи из UPM [7] сделали выводы в том, что вместе с компанией Sistemas делают успехи в разработке новой биометрической техники, которая позволила бы идентифицировать людей по их личному запаху.

Запахи отдельного человека представляют собой "слоеный пирог", в котором нижние слои свойственны только индивидуальному носителю, боле высокие слои связаны с текущей ситуацией и могут быть обусловлены косметикой, спецодеждой, запахами помещения итп, то есть наслоениями запахов. Разложение такого пирога на составляющие решается применением лидаров с перестраиваемой частотой излучения от инфракрасного до фиолетового - этап первичного разделения слоев запаха.

В настоящей работе предложена схема и методы дистанционного зондирования запахов и частей тела людей при решении задачи оперативной идентификации индивидуама. В основе технического решения применена концепция лидара для удаленной регистрации и анализа спектров поглащения запаховых следов. В качестве источников излучения применяются лазерные источники двух и более длинн волн видимого и инфракрасного (ультрафиалетого) диапазона с мощностью безопасных для зрения [3]. В [3] разработан лидар c длиной волны излучения 1.54 мкм безопасной для глаз и предназначенный для детектирования дымов и других примесей в воздухе. Показано, что в зависимости от рассеивающих свойств дыма возможна его регистрация на расстояниях до 10–12 км [3]. Мощность лазера для рассматриваемой задачи может быть уменьшена на 2-3 порядка, так как расстояние до контролируемого объекта будет составлять первые десятки метров.

Протипы лидара для идентификации индивидуама:

Конструктивно, протопипом лидара для идентификация человека по запаху могут послужить известные схемы лидаров, используемые для получения спектров поглащения при анализе атмосферного воздуха. Упрощенная схема лидара для зондирования атмосферы представлена рис.1 [4].

Упрощенная схема лидара для зондирования атмосферы

Рис. 1. Упрощенная схема лидара для зондирования атмосферы.[4]

На практике применяют две схемы лазерного зондирования атмосферы. В работе [6] проиллюстрированы такие схемы лазерного контроля состава атмосферных загрязнений по поглощению излучения. Первая схема представляет собой лазерный локатор, в которой лазерный луч проходит трассу к фотоприемнику, который расположен в конце трассы. На рис.1 представлен вариант, в котором в конце трассы установлен отражатель, при этом лазерный луч проходит трассу дважды-туда и обратно.

Во второй схеме, фотоприемник совмещен с излучателем и улавливает излучение, которое отражается от зондируемой области. Такую схему лазерного контроля состояния атмосферы называют лидаром [6].

Иллюстративная схема лидара для идентификации запахов

Рис. 2. Иллюстративная схема лидара для идентификации запахов.

На рис.2 представлена схема лидара для идентификации запахов. Схема устройства позволяет объединить в одном корпусе источник и приемник излучения. Последнее обстоятельство обеспечит создание компактного устройства для оперативного контроля и идентификация человека.

Спектры поглащения:

Спектры поглощения атмосферы низкого разрешения

Рис. 3. Примеры спектров поглащения атмосферного воздуха в ближнем [0,78-3 микрометров] и среднем [3-50 микрометров] инфракрасном ИК диапазоне длинн волн. [5]

На рис.3. приведены спектры поглощения атмосферы низкого разрешения. Верхние семь строк представляют спектры поглощения наиболее важных видов атмосферы. Нижняя строка таблицы моделируется спектр поглощения атмосферы [5]. Спектры поглощения атмосферы, выполненные спектрометром AVIRIS Classic (224 полосы) имели недостаточную выборку, что соответствовало спектральному разрешению 10 нм, и интервалу дискретизации также 10 нм. Спектрометр AVIRIS NG обеспечил разрешение порядка 5 нм при числе полос более 400 для покрытия 0,38 - 2,5 в микронном спектральном диапазоне волн.

Спектральный анализ спектров испускания и поглощения позволяет установить состав вещества на качественном уровне. Спектр поглощения представляет собой темные линии на фоне непрерывного спектра источника. Количественная характеристика компонентов запаха основывается на измерении яркости спектральных линий. Зная длины волн, испускаемых (поглощаемых) различными парами, можно установить наличие тех или иных компонентов.

Математическая обработка результатов зондирования может основываться на методах распознавания образов и в частности на кластерных методах с обучением, которые получили название нейронных сетей.

Математическая обработка:

Схема автоматического распознавания содержит три основных блока: датчик излучения, классификатор и блок обучения классификатора. Датчик преобразует физические характеристики объекта распознавания в набор формальных признаков x. Главный успех при реализации такого устройства зиждется на независимости измеренных датчиком характеристик. Алгоритм построения классификатора обеспечивает отнесение значений признаков к одному из конечного числа классов. Блок обучения ... (с учителем).

Со статистической точки зрения оптимальным по качеству классификации является байесовский классификатор [8 и др.]. Оптимальная решающая функция, в этом случае, относящая набор характеристик x к классу Wi определяется отношением правдоподобия:

p(x|Wi)/p(x|Wj) > 1

для всех j и i, j=/=i, где p(x|Wk) - условная вероятность для характеристик x при условии, что они принадлежат классу Wk.

Если классификатор выдает ошибочное решение о том, что набор данных x принадлежит классу Wi, хотя на самом деле x принадлежит классу Wj, то классификатор несет потери, которые получили название ошибок первого и второго рода. Правило Байеса позволяет оценить математическое ожидание потерь и выразить апостериорные вероятности через условные и априорные.

Ошибка первого рода - отнесение к классу Wi объекта, принадлежащего другому классу. Ошибка равносильна ситуации, когда вы встретили знакомого и не узнали его (будет богатым). Ошибка второго рода - отнесение объекта к классу Wi не принадлежащего этому классу. Это равносильно тому, что вы приняли неизвестного человека за своего знакомого (быть ему бедным). Эффективность правильного отнесения объекта к соответствующему классу оценивается предельной вероятностью Pe на рисунке ниже:

Распределение вероятностей ошибок первого и второго рода
Рис.4. Распределение вероятностей ошибок первого и второго рода.

Стремление к более полному описанию объектов распознавания позволяет снизить ошибки 1-го рода. В свою очередь расширение пространства признаков приводит к увеличению ошибок 2-го рода[9]. Нечеткие множества плотностей условных вероятностей не позволяют избежать ошибок распознавания в принципе (рис.4).

ВЫВОДЫ. 1) Успех классификации зависит от качества плотностей распределения условных вероятностей. 2) Риски потерь не могут быть сведены ниже определенной величины.

ЛИТЕРАТУРА:
[1]. Identity verification: Body odor as a biometric identifier. February 4, 2014. Universidad Politecnica de Madrid https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/
2014/02/140204073823.htm
[2]. Promisesand Challengesin ContinuousTrackingUtilizingAminoAcidsin SkinSecretionsfor ActiveMulti-FactorBiometricAuthentication for Cybersecurity. ChemPhysChem2017,18,1714 -1720. https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf
/10.1002/cphc.201700044
[3]. ЛИДАР С БЕЗОПАСНЫМ ДЛЯ ЗРЕНИЯ ИЗЛУЧЕНИЕМ. //НАУЧНОЕ ПРИБОРОСТРОЕНИЕ, 2002, том 12, № 4, c. 81–86. https://cyberleninka.ru/article/n/
lidar-s-bezopasnym-dlya-zreniya-izlucheniem
[4]. Разработка и создание макета лазерного газоанализатора дифференциального поглощения для трассовых измерений в реальных городских условиях на основе лазера. //Дипломная работа, 2015. https://kpfu.ru/portal/docs/F1806603334/Zuev.pdf
[5]. Введение в атмосферную спектроскопию и Спектральная Методика. June 2016. Remote Sensing Division, Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, DC USA. https://hyspiri.jpl.nasa.gov/downloads/2016_Symposium/
day1/III-4_Gao_GSFC_HyspIRI_Imaging_spectrometry_6_2016.pdf]
[6]. ЛАЗЕРНЫЙ КОНТРОЛЬ ЗАГРЯЗНЕНИЙ АТМОСФЕРЫ И ОКЕАНОВ. https://texts.news/populyarnaya-fizika_1438/
lazernyiy-kontrol-zagryazneniy-atmosferyi-50069.html
[7]. Universidad Polit?cnica de Madrid (UPM). http://www.upm.es/internacional/Students/StudiesDegrees/
University+Masters/Admission/
[8]. Дж.Ту, Р.Гонсалес - Принципы распознавания образов.
[9]. М.Смирнов, И.Сивяков - Распознавание портретных изображений в задаче автоматической классификации.
https://cache-spb04.cdn.yandex.net/download.yandex.ru/company/grant/2005/03_Smirnov_102804.pdf

 
Home http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/
Node.js/Express/Full-Stack http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/cgi_java/cgi_programming4.html
To help ATMs - protection via hidden water marks http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/watermark/cards/bankhelp.html
The elements of the probabilistic analysis of the Forex markethttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/forex_html/forex3eng.html
Registration and restoration of digital Fourier holograms http://smirnov.spb.su/papers/for_national_instruments_2015.php
Software for evaluating of ground resolution of remote sensing optical-systemhttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/special/index.html
Watermarking photoshttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/watermark/index.html
Restoration of imageshttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/scanner/filter/index.html
Physical simulation of optical-electronic system of high-resolutionhttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/simult_oes/index.html
Technology of counteraction to falsification of credit cardshttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/watermark/cards/card_eng.html
Import Excel into Opencarthttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/cgi_java/opencart_excel.html
Free Advertisment. Free Bulletin Board (russian)http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/wwwboard/rusboard.html
Contact ushttp://www.smirnov.sp.ru/wwwboard/eng/contact.html
Software Prices http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/prices/prices_eng.html
VIN number anti-theft http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/watermark/cards/add_vin_number.html

St. Petersburg, Russia
Mobile/WhatsApp: +7(921)343-33-97
E-mail: smirnoff04@mail.ru
http://www.smirnov.sp.ru/